Norse Gods and Norse Mythology

The Norse Gods

Norway is called as Vikings land and it’s known for its rich culture and diversity. It is believed that Vikings worshiped gods who helped them understand the secrets of their life.

In the Norse religion there were 9 worlds, and they believed that life was created by ice and fire. There were gods for cunning, medicine, eternal youth lovemaking and fidelity. Norse mythology also known as Scandinavian mythology is a kind of religion that was and still is practiced by some of the people in the Scandinavian countries and northern parts of Germany. In recent decades, stories and culture of the Vikings have spread throughout the world. Various sources have come up with several definitions of these myths and conflicts in the understanding of Norse mythology. While in the middle age it is believed that the Norse and people of Germanic origin before being converted to Christianity, they had their own religion which was very complex and sophisticated. This was the origin of Norse mythology. They are what these people believed and their religion had no concrete names, and this made it seem like a tradition practice. They believed in their gods’ gods like Odin, Tor, Loki, and Freya. It was the traditions of people in Scandinavian countries that gave birth to this religion. The Norse people believe that there are two types of gods, namely, the habits and the habits and other mythical beings who fight, dwarves and other creatures.

If you’re a fan of modern day Marvel movies and their characters then you would probably be familiar with Thor and his powerful hammer – that the hammer is called as Mjölnir. However, most of us will have difficulty remembering some other facts about Norwegian gods, perhaps with the exception of the name of Thor’s father, Odin. For example, did you know that Thor is actually redhead, or that Odin formed the first humans out of three? It is true. So if you are ready to learn some interesting facts about Norwegian gods, dive into these 25 facts about Norwegian gods Hollywood will not teach you.

Here is about the four Norse gods that have been pointed out to be the most important:

The first gods were the three brothers Odin, Vili and Ve, who fought a war against a giant named Ymir and his sons. The gods won and killed Ymir, with their body they created our world. His flesh was used for the ground, his legs were made into mountains, his blood in the seas, the dome of his skull to the sky, and his brain became clouds.

 Odin – The King Of Norse Gods

King of Norse Gods

Odin was the god of war, but also god of wisdom. He had an 8-legged horse that never made it tired or tired. he had two ravens called Munin and Hugin. Odin sent them out every day to get information about things that had happened in the world that day. Odin lived in Valhall. Everyone who died in battle in the polling station came to Valhall. Odin’s throne, which he apparently could see in all worlds, was called Hlidskialf.

Tordenguden Tor

Second important Norse God

Tordenguden Tor had a cart that was pulled by two bucks. Mjølnir is the hammer which is used for lightning and thunder. Tor was the farmer’s and fisherman’s god, he was always ready to defend the people against the creatures from Utgård.

Frøya and Frøy

Third and Fourth important Norse Gods

Frøya and Frøy were in the family. Freya was known as the god of love and fertility. In a source Frøya is described with a wagon pulled by two male cats. When she drives around it is completely silent. Frøy is a god of fertility. Frøy is God for good autumn and prosperity. Frøya and Frøy really mean master and lady.

Other Facts Of Norse Gods

The Norwegian gods used to belong to two separate pantheons: Aesir and Vanir. After the Aesir-Vanir war, they became a unified pantheon.

Vanir gods were an ancient branch of gods known to be masters of witchcraft and magic. They were also recognized for their talent to predict the future.

Aesir was the Norwegian myths’ male gods, and they lived in Asgard with female goddesses, the Asyric.

One of Asgard’s best-known places is Valhalla (Valhalla), where Odin rules.

The Norwegian pantheon is a colorful mix of gods and goddesses that are strongly inspired by Greek mythology. In the same way as in Greek myth, many of the gods and goddesses of Norwegian mythology were connected to each other.

Odin formed the first humans, Askr and Embla, out of three.

Unlike Egyptian and Greek mythology, both of which have male rulers in the underworld, the Norwegian underworld is governed by the goddess Hell. Vingolf is the name of the beautiful house the gods built for Asynjur, the goddesses of Asgard.

There are nine worlds in Norwegian mythology. Each world is divided into three levels. The first level contains Asgard, the home of God, and the middle contains Midgard, the human home. Midgard is connected to Asgard via Bifrost, “Rainbow Bridge.

Niflheim, “Mist Home”, is the darkest and coldest region in the world and should be the first of the nine worlds. It is located in the north, and it was assumed that during Niflheim was Helheim, home to the dead. On the other hand, Muspelheim was created far south of the world, and is a fiery hot spot filled with lava, flames and soot. Muspelheim was supposed to be the home of giants and demons and ruled by the giant Surt, a sworn enemy of Aesir.

Valhalla was the hall where Odin houses the dead he considered worthy to live with him. This was not a reward for moral behavior, but it was a reward for being a prominent warrior. Odin gathered these warriors for the purpose of helping them in their predicted fight against the wolf Fenrir during Ragnarok.

After sacrificing an eye to receive wisdom, Odin had no need to eat, wine was both food and drink for him.

Despite being known as Odin, the most significant god in Nordic myth has many names (over twenty). Even the name Sweden comes from “Svidur”, one of Odin’s names.

Although Odin is the “boss” of the Norwegian pantheon, Thor is considered the strongest of all gods.

Many Vikings used to have a small hammer around their necks for good luck. Also, when it was a party, they would give Thorens the sign of their food as Christians make signs of the cross in a prayer.

List of Norse Gods:

Balder , light god
Brage , the god of fame art
Fjøryn (Earth), earth goddess
Forsete , Mayor of God
Frigg , chief goddess
Frøya, fertility god, the third important Norse gods
Frøy , love goddess, the fourth important Norse gods
Gjevjon , agricultural goddess
Heimdall , the guard of the gods
Whole , goddess of death
Hermod , messenger
Hod , Balder’s killer
Hen , creator god
Idunn , fertility goddess
Lodur , Creator God
Loki , the deceitful
Nanna , Balder’s wife
Njord , the god of the sea
Od , fertility god
Odin , the King of the Norse Gods
Robbery , sea goddess
Sigyn , Loki’s wife
Siv , Tor’s wife
Damage , hunting and skiing
Debt , fate goddess
Tor , thunderous and second important Norse Gods
For , god of war
Wool , god of hunting and fighting
Urd , fate goddess
Ve , Creator God
Worthy , fate goddess
Vidar , Odin’s revenge
Wile , creator god
Våle , Balder’s revenge
Eggs , sea god

Human sacrifices were not unknown among the Norwegian, as very few were made in honor of Odin. There are many bills that kings are sacrificed to Odin. Remember that a victim to Odin usually required a person to be pierced with a spear and then hung. These are the well known facts and myths about Norse Gods.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *