Nobel Committee to announce Nobel Peace Prize winner today

Speculations are at peak, Korea-conflict at the top

On Friday at 11 o’clock, the Nobel Committee Chairman Berit Reiss-Andersen announces who wins Nobel Peace Prize this year. It is regarded as the most prestigious award in the fields of literature, medicine, physics, chemistry, economics and activism etc. Before that time, more speculation is emerging about who gets the world’s most respected recognition.

Kim Jong-un, Donald Trump, World Food Program or Iraqi Nadia Murad? The speculations of who will receive this year’s peace prize are many.

As a result of the peace dialogue between North Korea and South Korea,  the two Korean government leaders Kim Jong-un and Moon Jae-in are most frequently mentioned and top on the bookmaker’s list.

At Nicer Odds, Oddchecker and New Bookmakers, US President Donald Trump and German Prime Minister Angela Merkel stand high on the list. This also applies to the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR).

Women abuse in war and conflicts

Also names like Nadia Murad and Denis Mukwege go high up on the lists.

Murad was imprisoned by IS and subjected to abuse by the terrorist organization. She is now traveling around the globe with a strong commitment to combating sexual violence in conflicts. The Congolese doctor Mukwege has previously received a large number of awards for his work for women who have been raped in war.

Senior researcher Sverre Lodgaard at NUPI believes Murad wins with Mukwege because both have been strong drivers for defeating the systematic rape of women as part of war and conflict.

Second highest number of nominees

A total of 331 candidates have been nominated for this year’s peace prize, the second highest ever number, according to the Nobel Institute. Of these, 216 are people and 115 are organizations.

Others who list the bookmaker lists are the Iraqi human rights protector Yanar Mohammed, who won the 2016 Rafto Prize, Pope Frans, World Food Program (WFP) and the imprisoned Saudi Arabian blogger Raif Bawadi, who in 2015 was awarded the EU Human Rights Prize.

Norway’s Peace Council hit the spot last year by tapping the International Anti-Nuclear Weapon (ICAN) campaign that wins the peace prize. This year they have Arctic Council in first place.

The transfer of the prize will take place in Oslo on 10 December.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *