Fifa Awards: Modrics could break Ronaldo/ Messi hegemony

In the last ten years, FIFA has won either Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi as the world’s best football player. Monday night dominance can be over. Luka Modric was named Europe’s best football player in August. Monday he can also get the FIFA award.

For the first time in twelve years, Messi is not once among the three nominated finalists. In the summer , Barcelona’s superstar smashed out with Argentina already in the first round, while it ended in the championship quarterfinals last season.

Both Messi and Ronaldo have won the FIFA prize five times each. Ronaldo gets past the rivals if it’s his name being called up during the London Prison Monday Monday.

The Portuguese won the championship for the third consecutive year with Real Madrid. In six tight seasons he has become the top scorer in the most gifted European Cup. This summer, Ronaldo reported to Juventus.

Time for Modric?

The 33-year-old scored four goals in the World Cup, including hat tricks against Spain in the opening match, but Portugal’s championship drew a brisk end to Uruguay in the eighth finale. Ronaldo did not score in the championship semi-final or final. It has opened the door for Luka Modric.

The center star played a key role when Croatia exceeded all expectations and reached the World Cup final. Modric was also important on the road to Real Madrid’s championship triumph.

“I hope Luka is voted the world’s best player. He deserves it because he was the best player in both World Cup and World Cup. Messi and Ronaldo are amazing players, but this is Lukas’s year, says Croatia’s national team manager Zlatko Dalic.

In August, Modric was named Europe’s best football player. It happened in connection with the drawing of the group game to the champions league.

Few names on the list

Mohamed Salah is among the finalists of the FIFA award for the very first time. The Egyptian scored 44 goals for Liverpool last season. The red sweaters took all the way to the championship finale. There Salah incurred a shoulder injury, which meant he was not in his best form during the World Cup.

Ada Hegerberg is nominated to win the women’s FIFA award as the best player of the year. It is also her team friend in Lyon, Dzsenifer Marozsán, and Brazilian Marta.

Didier Deschamps is a great favorite to be named this year’s coach. He headed France for the World Cup title this summer. Dalic and former Real Madrid coach Zinédine Zidane are also nominated.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *